What's New


Servlet Polls

Mailing Lists

List Archives

Servlet Engines

Servlet ISPs

Servlet Tools


Online Articles

The Soapbox

"Java Servlet
Second Edition"

"Java Enterprise
Best Practices"

Speaking & Slides

About Jason

Advertising Info | ISP Reviews
Reviews for ISP: ADDR.COM

The following comments have been recorded for "ADDR.COM".

Average Overall Score: 2.2
Average Features Score: 2.3
Average Reliability Score: 2.3
Average Support Score: 2.4

[ Submit your own review ]       [ Back to the ISP list ]

Poor Servlet/JSP support

Date: January 28, 2002
Reviewer: Stan Kole  
Overall: 3     Features: 4     Reliability: N/A     Support: 2

Servlet/JSP support is poor/non-existent. Tech support was never able to resolve application specific servlet path issue. Almost seems like I was the first person to ever attempt getting servlets working on their systems. They used an old version of Jserv that only supports version 2.2 of the servlet API.

Poor servlet support

Date: February 25, 2002
Reviewer: Max Rahder  
Reviewer site:
Overall: 2     Features: 2     Reliability: 4     Support: 4

I tried them last year. Very good support in terms of quick responses, but very poor servlet response. They appeared to want to be able to say they supported them even though they were several versions out of date -- so much out of date that many normal classes/methods/JSP features were simply unavailable, thus rendering it pretty useless.

It's definetly cheap...

Date: March 2, 2002
Reviewer: kenny   (
Reviewer site:
Overall: 3     Features: 3     Reliability: 3     Support: 1

But you dont get servlets for 8 bucks. you need to get the gold package for 14/15 dollars per month. which is still cheap, but service is lacking. took forever to do a virtual map (and they got it wrong the first three times) and about a month when i initially signed up to get jsp/servlets running (you need to tell them you want jsp/servlet access).

Nice deal

Date: August 14, 2002
Reviewer site:
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

They have started using Tomcat Version 3.3.1 with mod_jk v1.2.0 and JDK 1.2.2 etc...

Terrible All Around ISP

Date: October 25, 2002
Reviewer: Dan Rubin  
Overall: 1     Features: 1     Reliability: 1     Support: 1

My experience with has been terrible in every way possible.

1. Very poor servlet implementation. They will not support init parameters or a CLASSPATH... that should tell you enough.

2. Terrible customer support, you wait on the phone for 20 minutes and then are directed to leave a voicemail which is impossible because their mailbox is always full. This is even true for billing issues and EVEN SALES !!

3. Nothing happens in realtime. You submit a credit card number on their webform and then have to wait (>48 hours in most cases) someone to manually run the charge... they have no idea of who they are charging what for if you have multiple accounts and you can't check since the reason for the charge does not show up on your bank statement. You don't get email/or paper invoices if you sign up for an account with a credit card.

4. For every email support request they request you PUT YOUR ACCOUNT PASSWORD IN THE REQUEST... In email for god sakes. Just shows how incompetent they are truely are over there.

5. All of their web servers seem to stop processing HTTP requests for short periods of time periodically. They give no reason and they won't even acknowledge it is happening. All my customers complained and I verified it was the case. It usually happens in the morning????

Bottom line... don't let the $9.95 fool you. You will waste hundreded of non-tangible dollars (your time) attempting to get things working at!


Date: February 7, 2003
Reviewer: James White   (
Overall: 1     Features: 1     Reliability: 1     Support: 1

They took the money, and now 3 weeks later they still have not given me servlet access - people like this make java look like a big problem and hurt the image of JSP providers - what few there are. I am filing wire fraud with my state and whatever other agency will listen. My advice is try anyone else you can find!


Date: March 14, 2003
Reviewer: JohnE  
Overall: 1     Features: 1     Reliability: 1     Support: 3

Serious applications should avoid this site due to one simple reason. Security.

I am a current Gold member customer looking to move my site ASAP. With unsecure telnet access, I can log into my server, then cd into any other users' directory on that server and go through their private directories such as WEB-INF. Those directories are not viewable from the web, but if are another customer, you can get things like database passwords as they are unprotected from other customers.

Besides that, you can't do any real JSP/Servlet/mySQL applications because they lock down your WEB-INF directory and give you a WEB-INF/servlets directory. The result of this is you have no ability to access or modify your web.xml file. This negates any serious application development.

Besides that, the technology is all fairly old and the same is supported server wide and support won't change it. New people should be given Java 1.4.1, Tomcat 4.*, and new version of mySQL as they have the features not found in's Java 1.1.8 and the stability that Java 1.3 never had for high throughput applications.

Limited support for servlets

Date: August 1, 2003
Reviewer: Jay Wagner  
Overall: 3     Features: 2     Reliability: N/A     Support: 4

This is from an email from their support staff after trying to upload my WAR. Unfortunately, we do not support
b)WAR Application deployment
c)Database Connection Pooling
d)Connectivity to remote servers
e)Custom Scripting and troubleshooting
f)WEB-INF Folder
g)User's version of web.xml - Our web.xml file cannot be overridden.

They still suck

Date: November 17, 2004
Reviewer: Derek  
Reviewer site:
Overall: 1     Features: 2     Reliability: 1     Support: 1

Just a confirmation that still sucks as a servlet/jsp host. Still on jdk 1.2 and tomcat 3.3.1. When I got an FTP session I could see other user sites. Seriously, if they would have invested as much in their people as they did in their site they would probably be half decent, but they didn't so they're not.
Home   com.oreilly.servlet   Polls   Lists   Archives
Engines    ISPs   Tools   Docs   Articles   Soapbox   Book

Copyright © 1999-2001 Jason Hunter
All Rights Reserved