What's New


Servlet Polls

Mailing Lists

List Archives

Servlet Engines

Servlet ISPs

Servlet Tools


Online Articles

The Soapbox

"Java Servlet
Second Edition"

"Java Enterprise
Best Practices"

Speaking & Slides

About Jason

Advertising Info | ISP Reviews
Reviews for ISP: eApps

The following comments have been recorded for "eApps".

Average Overall Score: 3.3
Average Features Score: 4.5
Average Reliability Score: 3.1
Average Support Score: 3.3

[ Submit your own review ]       [ Back to the ISP list ]

All-around Wonderful Host

Date: August 29, 2004
Reviewer: Eli Doran  
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

I purchased the $30/month service. Its control panel is very intuitive and easy to use. You have control over everything from (re)starting your whole server, each service (apache, tomcat, mysql/postgresql, etc). You can add/remove applications in your account through the control panel as well. Select different versions of software like Tomcat 4/5, MySQL 3/4. If you change your mind you can change it without having to contact ANYONE. The control panel allows you. It allows you access to all users, root, etc. As well as file access, you can control file/folder permissions, FTP users, SSH is allowed and under your control. It's as if it's your own machine. You can change all the config files manually. The mailbox/users can be configured to be in multiple domains because you can have mutiple domain names in one control panel served by your one server. It has SpamAssassin, allows spamcop and a few other alternatives. Allows users you create to access control panel to manage their account. You can also allow them webspace mapped of course with the host/~username. I have used a good many hosts and have always been disappointed and irritated until now. I would love to be able to send business to this company. They have fantastic service. Also, they have a Wide range of services.

The Best Hosting Company for Technical People

Date: November 28, 2004
Reviewer: George  
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 4     Support: 5

eApps provides a VPS environment, and you get root access. This is not a shared environment like most hosting companies provided. I have used several other hosting companies, and this is the best. If you like Unix/Linux and open source applications, this is the one. If you don't like unix, thier control panel makes it easy to admin. And, if you call their 800 number, they actually answer their own phones, not some call center offshore.

Hopefully, my last webhosting provider

Date: March 3, 2005
Reviewer: Barry Wythoff  
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: N/A     Support: 5

After using 2 other webhosting providers, who were decidedly lacking, I found eApps. Here's what I really like:
- Offer VPS hosting
- Reasonably priced
- Access to up-to-date versions of JDK, Tomcat, MySQL
- Most admin tasks can be done quickly and automatically through the control panel
- Use Virtuozzo, HSP Complete Control Panel web interface, versus the heinous cpanel/whm combination used by many others
- Knowledgeable, responsive and available support staff!

I think I may have finally found a place where I can, happily, stay awhile :-).

Simply the best!!!

Date: April 1, 2005
Reviewer: anon  
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

I can't really think of anything to add to the other reviews. They pretty much nailed it. I've been through quite a few hosts over the years and this is the best experience I've had so far.

The comment about eApps are for technical people... I would say if you're a novice or looking for a simple turnkey hosting plan, this is not probably for you. However, if you're game and roll up your sleeves, the payoff is more than worth it. I'm not a novice but no tech guru by far, too, so I had to deal with the learning curve intially. I just wished I found them a lot sooner! I highly recommend them. You'll never look back!

Waiting when my hosting expires

Date: May 4, 2005
Reviewer: Noaman  
Overall: 2     Features: 4     Reliability: 1     Support: 3

I agree with the reviews that its control panel is good, i like their support hours too, however their support staff atleast whom I'm faced with hardly knew anything.

Overall, if you are technically competent in managing the system, its a good call else NO.

not bad

Date: May 12, 2005
Reviewer: Kimberly  
Overall: 4     Features: 4     Reliability: 4     Support: 4

all around good provider

Very poor technical support

Date: October 3, 2005
Reviewer: anon  
Overall: 3     Features: 5     Reliability: 4     Support: 1

Contrary to the other comments, I have found the support staff to be incompetent. I frequently have to give them tutorials on basic system admin issues. Their solution for anything complex is to throw more money into an upgrade and the problem will go away. Overall the freedom is quite good, especially on vpn systems (root access to your vps through a ssh connection) so you can manage most of the nitty gritty by yourself. But if you are an enterprise/jboss user I would steer clear as they are simply unable to configure their own system to maximum efficiency, and you will find you are out almost of memory before you even begin to deploy your first application.

Control Panel VERY slow

Date: February 7, 2006
Reviewer: John Yates  
Overall: 1     Features: 5     Reliability: 1     Support: N/A

EApps had everything I wanted for hosting but the control panel was so slow and unresponsive it was veritably unusable. There was an average 10 - 40 second wait for each click, which means it would've taken hours to actually administrate the server using the CP.

Offers Everything, Delivers Nothing

Date: June 15, 2006
Reviewer: Bob  
Overall: 1     Features: 5     Reliability: 1     Support: 1

After just two weeks on eapps I am searching for a new hosting company. As a freelance developer I have dealt with countless hosting companies, and I have never been so frustrated as I am with this one. Yes, they offer the world, but their support is so astonishingly bad that it seems as if they are actually trying to deliver poor service. The comments about how slow the CP is are not exaggerated. I have a broadband connection and literally timed out on more than one occaision trying to go from one section of the CP to another. As a PHP developer who is just getting into JSP and servlets, I can't think of a worse experience. My favorite support example, this isn't java related but it shows what you are up against there...

When they did the apache / php installations they neglected to enable track_vars. I have never, ever, seen a php installation without this enabled. Without track_vars you cannot send form data to a php script. All post variables are invisible to your php code. Easy enough to fix (php.ini) if you are running as a cgi, but a bit of a problem if you are running php as mod. My first dealings with support on this issue consisted of being asked over and over if I had read their one page apache manual. Finally, today, I dealt with someone who had a different answer. I was told that the only way to fix this would be to go in through the Linux shell and reconfigure. When I responded that I'm not familiar enough with my Linux to go tossing about the shell of a VPS the response was "well, you really should learn Linux". That was the extent of the support. "Well, you really should learn Linux".

Support and Reliabilty questionable

Date: October 20, 2006
Reviewer: Nadeen  
Overall: 1     Features: 3     Reliability: 1     Support: 1

In the past several months our site has had numerous outages -- some planned without our knowledge (moving us from server to server for instance). The support is less then stellar. When we asked why some of our logfiles were missing we were told "we don't know". That was considered a final answer. Pluses --root access and virtual server. Minuses --see above. If reliabilty is key look elsewhere.

Has every feature I've ever needed & 5* support

Date: May 2, 2008
Reviewer: Jonathan Matthews  
Reviewer site:
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 5     Support: 5

I've tried a few hosting solutions in the past but had a difficult time finding someone who had everything I needed (Tomcat/MySQL/mod_jk/Root access/Easy to administer e-mail, ssh etc. etc.). I eventually found eapps & they supported it all. Every time I've needed a new technology I've found eapps are ahead of me & already support it. New services are also very easy to install... just a couple of clicks in the control panel.

I don't understand those who have rated the support as poor because frankly I think it's better than any support I've ever received from any company (not just hosting providers). For example:

1. There are real technical people manning the e-mail support including Sat/Sun

2. It's never taken more than 5 mins. for a first response.

3. On one occasion the 1st line support couldn't answer a networking question so it was progressed to a networking expert & answered within 20 minutes (amazingly good). My failover ISP took 24 hrs. to reply to the same request & got the answer wrong.

4. I've been given support on extremely technical issues which by all rights weren't directly related to the service as sold. I suspect other providers would have told me to go & buy a book in the same situation.

Overall excellent, would (& do) highly recommend to anyone.

Support is not supportive

Date: March 24, 2009
Reviewer: Dave B  
Overall: 2     Features: 3     Reliability: 3     Support: 1

I've had a lot of experience with other hosting services but these guys are the least managed of "managed services" that I've ever seen. I followed all of their docs to the tee and yet getting anything to work took a load a grief. The last straw was when I attempted to deploy a very very simple custom class and was told that the problem was a programming issue when it was clearly a configuration issue. I have no time for people who prefer to point fingers rather than address their own problems.
Home   com.oreilly.servlet   Polls   Lists   Archives
Engines    ISPs   Tools   Docs   Articles   Soapbox   Book

Copyright © 1999-2001 Jason Hunter
All Rights Reserved