What's New


Servlet Polls

Mailing Lists

List Archives

Servlet Engines

Servlet ISPs

Servlet Tools


Online Articles

The Soapbox

"Java Servlet
Second Edition"

"Java Enterprise
Best Practices"

Speaking & Slides

About Jason

Advertising Info | ISP Reviews
Reviews for ISP: mycgiserver

The following comments have been recorded for "mycgiserver".

Average Overall Score: 4.0
Average Features Score: 4.3
Average Reliability Score: 3.2
Average Support Score: 4.0

[ Submit your own review ]       [ Back to the ISP list ]

A great place to play with servlets and learn about them

Date: February 27, 2000
Reviewer: Kerry Beier   (
Reviewer site:
Overall: 4     Features: 4     Reliability: 3     Support: 5

I have only one comment about mycgiserver: they are EXCELLENT. The last time I used them they were offering 2Mb of space (not 1 as Jason has written in the blah on this host), which was enough to just play around with servlets and learn about them. If I ever had any questions, the support was brilliant - they really know their stuff. The only problem was the downtime - sometimes 2 - 3 weeks with no way of knowing when they would be back up. But hey, they're free and if you're a servlet newbie, they're a great place to start. I think also because they're free there is a high demand for accounts with them, so you may have to wait to get an account if none are available.

great service

Date: June 26, 2000
Reviewer: Tony Mitchel   (
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 3     Support: 5

mycgiserver is a well done service offering all support we need for hosting our servlets. What the reviewer before said is not true though, I'm a long-time member of mycgiserver and the longest downtime which was due to a total system outtage was around one week. Since 2000 they are nearly 100% reliable, which is great for us! All in all, I can fully recommend it for hosting your servlet, I even heard the'll dramatically upgrade their service with even more features. Can't wait to get my hands on them!!

Good features, poor speed and bandwith

Date: September 28, 2000
Reviewer: bytecode   (
Overall: 2     Features: 3     Reliability: 2     Support: 2

The features are good. The main missing piece is the inability to view logs and System.outs(). The servers are exxxxxxxxxxxxxtremely slow. A typical page load can take anywhere between 30 to 90 seconds !!

Good FREE service

Date: March 30, 2001
Reviewer: Roberto Lo Giacco  
Overall: 4     Features: 5     Reliability: 4     Support: 4

They just need a little more bandwidth to speed up content delivery: the absence of historical logs makes the service totally unusable for commercial purposes, but it's not intended for those people, they could pay for this service... =)

If you're looking for a free place to develop servlets and jsp pages then this is a great site.

Date: June 22, 2001
Reviewer: Casey Winans  
Overall: 4     Features: 4     Reliability: 4     Support: 4

They now offer 5M of space and user Resin instead of JRun. They also support Cocoon and PHP.

Very good (considering it's free)

Date: July 13, 2001
Reviewer: Eugene Kononov   (
Reviewer site:
Overall: 4     Features: 4     Reliability: 3     Support: 3

I am happy to be a mycgiserver user. It may be hard to believe that they give you all these features (5Mb space, database support, JSP/Servlets) for free, but that's what it is. Unfortunately, the downtime is frequent and the server response time is too long (sometimes as long as 20-30 seconds).

They rock

Date: February 26, 2003
Reviewer: Ryan  
Overall: 5     Features: 5     Reliability: 3     Support: 5

Hey, give the guys a break, they are offering a fantastic service and its free,you can fool around with it how ever much you want, learn and ask questions, tell me what the f*** are you doing with all your free resources? are you using it properly and sharing what you are not using??? i didnt think so. They have some of the latest if not the latest verions running there of java and thats not easy...they are doing the best they can and should be encouraged.The have their problems but since you arnt paying,dont complain.Both thumbs up for them. Cheers. - Ryan

Very good, unbelievable for free!

Date: March 17, 2003
Reviewer: Thibaut REGNIER  
Overall: 4     Features: 5     Reliability: 3     Support: 4

Latest versions of all you need (Java, servlets, JavaMail,...), 5MB space to store files (it's huge if you only store compiled class files). Now you have access to your private servlet logs (the latest 25 logs). The only drawback is the reliability. It seems that the servlets are restarted several times a day, each downtime usually lasts about 10 seconds. It looks like some servlets are crashing the server.

Great experimentation/learning site

Date: June 7, 2008
Reviewer: Gil  
Overall: 4     Features: 4     Reliability: 4     Support: 4 was in need of money some 5 years ago (weren't we all?). They found a saving angel in the form of MyCGIServer is now MyJavaServer and can be found at where you can sign up for a new account, still for free. Note that this really isn't where you would host your own public website, a business site, or customer sites.
Home   com.oreilly.servlet   Polls   Lists   Archives
Engines    ISPs   Tools   Docs   Articles   Soapbox   Book

Copyright © 1999-2001 Jason Hunter
All Rights Reserved