What's New


Servlet Polls

Mailing Lists

List Archives

Servlet Engines

Servlet ISPs

Servlet Tools


Online Articles

The Soapbox

"Java Servlet
Second Edition"

"Java Enterprise
Best Practices"

Speaking & Slides

About Jason

Advertising Info | ISP Reviews
Reviews for ISP: Interland

The following comments have been recorded for "Interland".

Average Overall Score: 1.6
Average Features Score: 2.2
Average Reliability Score: 2.0
Average Support Score: 1.2

[ Submit your own review ]       [ Back to the ISP list ]

Slow sites with slow support response time

Date: March 2, 2000
Reviewer: Flinx  
Overall: 3     Features: 3     Reliability: 2     Support: 2

I tried to host my site with HostPro but ended up cancelling my service after 3 frustrating weeks. Their servers are clearly overloaded, as even the simple Hello servlet that is included with JServ took on average 5secs to run. Don't even think about hooking your servlets to a database (mySQL) - you'll be Methuselah's age before you get a response back! Support people were generally knowledgeable but response time varied from 3 hours to 5 days.

not a good servlet site

Date: March 12, 2000
Reviewer: Sean Moore  
Reviewer site:
Overall: 2     Features: 3     Reliability: 2     Support: 1

jserv engine was frequently down and support took DAYS to acknowledge my emails which by that time had already been fixed somehow. They never got JSP working for me either. Maybe a fine ISP otherwise but servlet/jsp support is weak. I canceled and am now trying somewhere else.

Tough times

Date: March 26, 2000
Reviewer: Nancy  
Overall: 2     Features: 3     Reliability: 3     Support: 1

I have to agree with the other 2 reviews posted so far. The HTTP server seemed to run OK, but servlets were slow. And support/setup was a big problem. Days go by before they acknowledge e-mail (sending an automated response "incident ID" doesn't count). More days to fix the problem, if they can at all...We've moved on, for now to a host without servlets, but at least less trouble.

Playing Catch Up

Date: March 27, 2000
Reviewer: Brendan Colthurst  
Overall: 2     Features: 3     Reliability: 3     Support: 2

I've never had a support request e-mail answered, and I always wait 10 minutes before speaking to a support person on the phone. But once I talk to them on the phone, the people are generally helpful. It seems to me that HostPro is new to servlets/JSP... You have to ask for everything to be set up. Servlets, mySQL, JSSI, JSP, and JDBC are all seperate tasks for them-- even though the hosting package supports them all, you have to ask, specifically, for each one to be setup.

Poor support and SO slow!

Date: April 7, 2000
Reviewer: Jim   (
Overall: 2     Features: 2     Reliability: N/A     Support: 2

I've been trying to use them for a couple months now and have experienced nothing but frustrations. It took a week after having the site setup before I could finally get them to add the servlets directory. The servlets ran fine for a few weeks but over the past 2 weeks it seems that the servlet engine is down more than it's up and their support department doesn't seem very worried by this fact. I'm currently shopping for another ISP that supports servlets.

Thumbs Down

Date: April 17, 2000
Reviewer: Mark  
Overall: 1     Features: 3     Reliability: 1     Support: 1

Gotta' agree with those who came before me. Too bad I didn't read these reviews first before trying HostPro! Getting help from tech. support - or even getting them to do what they already should have done, like finish setup - is a sooo slow exercise in futility. Their rates are reasonable so if you want to put up a big personal site, maybe you can put up with the aggravation. But if your business depends on these guys, forget it...


Date: April 26, 2000
Reviewer: Christopher M Cannata   (
Reviewer site:
Overall: 1     Features: 1     Reliability: 1     Support: 1

If you love to run the test Hello to see if your servlets are up and running then this is all you will get. I just saw all the responses and mine is just the same. I spent 4 weeks of hell trying to get my servlets working and they still do not work. The tech support people do not even know what version of Apache they are using after repeated e-mails and phone conversations. Save yourself the headache and go some place else. If you know of a great ISP for servlets. E-mail me at

Old platform. little support

Date: April 29, 2000
Reviewer: Carmen Delessio   (
Reviewer site:
Overall: 1     Features: 1     Reliability: 1     Support: 2

I think these comments from tech support, say it best. Actually the JDK is 1.1.6. and the JSeve Version is 1.0. Our test is working: After explaining that I wanted to change the classpath: As for the classpath, you should be able to put into your code. Please check the Java resources on the Internet for further assistance on this access.

Do not host with this company !!!!!

Date: April 30, 2000
Reviewer: David Matthews  
Reviewer site:
Overall: 1     Features: 1     Reliability: 1     Support: 1

The servers at this company are clearly overloaded. Half the time we cannot even FTP into the server to make changes to our site. We are moving to another provider because of this reason. I don't understand how they are rated so highly on the list. Do not host with this company !!!!

Slow to start but okay overall

Date: May 5, 2000
Reviewer: John  
Reviewer site:
Overall: 3     Features: 4     Reliability: 3     Support: 2

I agree with the other reviewers that HostPro is overly slow to get servlet and MySQL support added to new accounts. If they'd simply ask if you wanted this when you signed up it would have saved me 3 weeks of hassle. But once up and running I haven't had too much trouble. Sure it's occasionally slow and occasionally down but it's cheap and pretty much does what I need. Support is very slow to answer but generally knowlegeable. Overall it's about what I expect for cheap shared hosting.

Support was terrible

Date: May 7, 2000
Reviewer: Jason Riley  
Reviewer site:
Overall: 1     Features: 1     Reliability: 1     Support: 1

Tried for 4 weeks to get some answers to simple questions. I never recieved a reply. I would suggest you look elsewhere.

horrible, unreliable, unresponsive

Date: June 20, 2000
Reviewer: RJHarvey   (
Reviewer site:
Overall: 1     Features: 1     Reliability: 1     Support: 1

The other comments parallel my own experiences. It took MANY tries to finally get servlets enabled, very very few of their otherwise helpful support people know anything about servlets, emails to product support were often unanswered, or claimed 'solved' with solutions that were just wrong (in one case, they took days to respond, and instead of restarting the servlet service, they wanted to CHARGE me to restore my web files from a backup tape). Clearly way overloaded, and their staff way overworked. I don't think a week went by when the servlet function didn't simply crash, and they never detected this on their own. I'm eagerly looking to switch to a provider that is reliable!

Bad, bad, bad....

Date: July 6, 2000
Reviewer: Ethan  
Overall: 1     Features: 2     Reliability: 2     Support: 1

Except for the price, they have been very disappointing. Slow to respond, slow to help, clueless when they do... All in all, not worth it. Avoid.

Not knowledgable especially with Java

Date: September 22, 2000
Reviewer: Matt  
Overall: 1     Features: 2     Reliability: 2     Support: 1

I was setting up an e-commerce site with this host and I had to ask to have everything enabled for me. Anytime we had a general problem they got back to me with in 24 hours but that meant that I lost a day of work. Now the REAL problem. While setting up my servlets I discovered a major security issue which allowed other sites hosted on this 'shared' machine to access anyone elses files including the server's. This lead to possible break ins. It took me 2 weeks to convince them of this and when I finally did they solved only half the problem. In short they are NOT Java experts and I am leaving because there is no telling what other security holes there are. I am not the one who should be finding and persuading them to fix issues like this.

You've got to be knowledgable.

Date: October 26, 2000
Reviewer: Patrick   (
Reviewer site:
Overall: 3     Features: 4     Reliability: 3     Support: 1

All newbies and experimentalists that want to learn Java by starting with servlets should stay away from HostPro. You need to be knowledgable about how things works (JDBC drivers, etc), because the direction that support will steer you in will normally be wrong but this is mostly because support doesn't normally understand what servlets are and how they function. Hence, your are on your own from the start. If you are ambitious, and know how to correctly code (a.k.a you close your files after doing IO, close database connections, etc), the service can be very fast on the $40 a month level. Please don't look at the sample code they provide, most of it is wrong. If you have prior Java experience you should have no problems. E-commerce using servlets is possible, but you might want to look elsewhere for that. The negatives: JDK 1.1.8, sometimes the servlet engine crashes and it takes a while for them to reset, really and I mean really crappy statistics package, no shell access, support by email is slow (but you can always call), must specify that you want certain functionalities to be setup. Positives: Cheap -$40 a month, less if you pay year and I got a free Palm pilot out of the deal, lots of bandwith (20 GB). Like the guy said before slow start, but okay.

Don't choose HostPro

Date: November 12, 2000
Reviewer: Aaron Stephanic  
Overall: 2     Features: 3     Reliability: 2     Support: 1

I concurr with most of the other reviews on this site. Hostpro is slow, has bad support, and servlets don't work very well.

No Servlets Here!

Date: June 12, 2001
Reviewer: Dave Dalton  
Overall: 1     Features: 1     Reliability: N/A     Support: 1

Unfortunately this comapny does NOT! offer servlet support for anything under their $150 a month package. Trust me I just spent a month & $40 just to find this out! So unless you feel money buring a hole in your pocket, stay away from this one!

Don't support JSP/Servlets on their NetPlus product contrary to their sales promise. You have to have a higher priced dedicated server package.

Date: September 24, 2001
Reviewer: Chris Tuey  
Reviewer site:
Overall: 2     Features: 1     Reliability: 3     Support: 1

I was originally told that they would support JSP/Servlets on the NetPlus package. When I needed to begin using those resources I was told that it was too resource intensive to provide that support on shared platforms and that I would have to upgrade to a dedicated server if I wanted JSP/Servlet support. You have to watch their billing carefully as well. --CT

sucks beyond belief - avoid like the plague

Date: November 29, 2001
Reviewer: Stephen Tenberg   (
Overall: 1     Features: 3     Reliability: 3     Support: 1

I was with Hostpro for years - not even using Java - and they recently lost 4 days of email messages during a migration. The only good thing is that the site was (mostly) up. Support is unbelievably bad.

Very bad. I tried and tried, and then moved...

Date: February 11, 2002
Reviewer: bruno souza   (
Reviewer site:
Overall: 1     Features: 1     Reliability: 3     Support: 1

I had a _very_ small set of servlets, and still had problems. Servlet support is outdated, and there's no expectation of any upgrade. There's no commitment even to support it. Tech support says "we don't have much request for it". That was like telling me me to move... So I did. I'm using Locaweb ( now, and I'm very pleased. They are even cheeper! But their web site/support is in Portuguese, may be a problem... ;-)

I do not recommend them...

Date: March 5, 2002
Reviewer: Tim Dwelle  
Overall: 2     Features: 2     Reliability: 3     Support: 1

I believe they are using j_serv (servlet 2.0) which makes it increasingly hard to use this for running any "real world" applications. The servlet engine also seems to be down quite a bit... and of course, nobody in Tech Support understands the first thing about Java. There have to be better ISPs for servlet support.

Poor reliability - dropped Java

Date: March 5, 2002
Reviewer: Mark Wonsil   (
Reviewer site:
Overall: 2     Features: 3     Reliability: 1     Support: 2

I used to host with HostPro and it was great. Now Interland's support of former HostPro sites is poor, especially w/ e-mail. I was told an Interland package would be more reliable. I paid more - got less. No Java and worse e-mail (many bounces). I tried to go to another ISP but I heard Interland bought them, and I've had enough of Interland. Now I am using to find another...

Don't waste your time

Date: March 7, 2002
Reviewer: Hitek  
Overall: 2     Features: 3     Reliability: 2     Support: 1

These comments apply to Interland a year or two ago and are not specifically to servlets, but judging by recent review, my experiences are still relevant:

I moved my site to Interland after asking a bunch of technical questions. The site didn't work. After wasting days and eventually weeks trying to get answers from support people who didn't seem to understand English, or who had completely inadequate technical knowledge, I finally discovered that their systems couldn't support my site configuration. This was something I'd specifically asked about before moving my site, but what they'd told me in sales was just wrong. I then had to find another host. My site was offline for weeks, and it cost me a fortune in wasted time. I found system response times in general were slow, and email was often so slow it stopped completely.

The only good thing I can say is that they refunded my 6 month up-front payment.

Don't waste your time. Find a better host, even if it means paying more.

I cancelled

Date: July 28, 2002
Reviewer: Sam  
Overall: 1     Features: 2     Reliability: 1     Support: 1

Unfortunately, I have been dealing with them for sometime. The technical knowledge of their average support team member is far below what you can imagine. They shut down my site three times without a prior notice. Every single time for a mistake their billing department made. First time they said "oops sorry". Second time they did it again, I cancelled my account with them. Their sales representative called me and offered a lower rate, and now they have done it again. I'm searching for a new hosting service. It's not worth staying with them even with a lower rate. The damage done from their shutting down my site has been far greater than the lower rate. At the beginning they had my credit card number. They overcharged it and it took them 4 months to issue a refund. I switched the payment option to check ever since. But it hasn't stopped their billing department from making unbelievable mistakes.

Flee this mindless, huge, bureaucratic nightmare of a company

Date: June 29, 2004
Reviewer: G. S.  
Overall: 1     Features: 1     Reliability: 1     Support: 1

I originally was a HostPro customer when servlet hosting was not widespread. Enjoyed their service and support was top notch.

Flash forward:

HostPro -> Micron -> Interland

Nightmare. The incompetence of the people involved at Interland is mind boggling. They shut down my email when I was corresponding with a few perspective employers and when I called, they said it would take a minimal of 72 hrs. to restore email service. I then asked to speak to a supervisor. After 20 minutes on hold, the rude rep came back on the line and said that the supervisor wasn't answering his phone but he could leave a message for him but it would take 72 hrs. for the supervisor to get back to me. Duh. I tried to explain that the 72 hr. delay was the reason I WANTED to speak to a supervisor in the first place. Mouth-breathing cretin rep didn't grasp and/or didn't care. I immediately cancelled my service with them.

Flash forward a few months. I get threatening mail from Interland saying that I owed them for service AFTER I cancelled my account with them. I called them and the rep was snotty saying that there wasn't any record of my cancelling my service. I had made it a point when I did cancel my service that I didn't have to do anything else and the rep at the time said no but here was another rep saying that I still owed them money because she couldn't find a form they used internally to cancel accounts.

She then saw a comment on the account saying that I had in fact cancelled the account when I said I did but she still didn't apologize for her haughty demeanor, only saying that this form or that form wasn't submtted internally, blah, blah, blah.

I once again asked if they would stop bothering me since the reason I cancelled their service was for this type of idiocy. She said that everything was fine and my account was closed.

Flash forward another couple of months. Another nasty snail mail letter arrives threatening to take me to collections if I didn't pay for services rendered after I first cancelled my service, including the time in-between the first cancellation and the first nasty letter, and the time from my second call to the time this letter arrived. I was livid.

I called them once again. The poor girl on the phone was extremely apologetic, saying that this sort of thing happened all of the time there and she was thinking about quitting because it was so bad. She assured me that she would personally walk whatever crap forms were necessary to get the matter resolved and she gave me her direct number if there were any problems. I haven't received any moronic collection letters since so I think she walked the forms around and then promptly quit the crap company.

I also have a friend who hosted about a dozen sites for other people using Interland and he recently cancelled all of his accounts because he hit the same moronic, incompetent bureaucracy that I did.

Stay away from Interland. They suck and they'll suck the life out of you if you ever have to dealing with their incompetence.

Home   com.oreilly.servlet   Polls   Lists   Archives
Engines    ISPs   Tools   Docs   Articles   Soapbox   Book

Copyright © 1999-2001 Jason Hunter
All Rights Reserved